Inspiration from Artists Wk 106 Bonus Artist : John Atkinson Grimshaw

Welcome to the forum.

Here you can discuss all things art with like-minded artists, join regular painting challenges, ask questions, buy and sell art materials and much more.

Make sure you sign in or register to join the discussions.

Hang on Studio Wall
Showing page 1 of 2
Welcome to this weekend’s bonus artist thread the featuring artist this week is  John Atkinson Grimshaw 1836- 1893  was a Victorian  era artist born in Leeds who is best known for his nocturnal of urban landscapes. Grimshaw’s love of realism stemmed from his passion for photography, though entirely self taught he is know to have used a camera obscurer. James McNeill Whistler whom Grimshaw worked with in his Chelsea studios stated “ I considered myself the inventor of nocturnes until I saw “ Grimmys “ moonlit pictures “. In early paintings he signed “JAG” , “J A Grimshaw “ or “ John Atkinson Grimshaw, though he finally settled on “Atkinson Grimshaw “. I featured this artist this weekend following a comment made by Tony Auffret in this weeks thread in respect of JW Inchbold and Grimshaw I thought it would be interesting to se the difference in their style etc.  I hope you enjoy my selection of his work.
I really like this artist’s work - it’s beautifully painted and so atmospheric.

Edited
by Jenny Harris