Pencil Sketch or Paint sketch?

Welcome to the forum.

Here you can discuss all things art with like-minded artists, join regular painting challenges, ask questions, buy and sell art materials and much more.

Make sure you sign in or register to join the discussions.

Hang on Studio Wall
Hi all, As I'm new to this oil painting melarky, I'm going to have a go at my first painting at the weekend. But I was wondering on my canvas board do I pencil sketch or paint sketch to get the foundations on the canvas? Many thanks Ian
Whatever you are more comfortable with Ian. There are no rules in oil painting so it’s your call. I prefer to dive straight in with a weak mix of say burnt sienna on a brush to get my main structure and tones in place. But that takes confidence which only comes with experience, so a thin stick of charcoal or a soft pencil may be a good starting point for you. It’s not a good idea to go into too much detail in the initial drawing out stages, otherwise you could find yourself carefully painting in the areas much like a ‘Paint by numbers’ job! It’s there as a guide and will eventually be covered over. br /> You may find my WIP feature useful, it’s in the PaintersOnline e-newsletter which will be out on Thursday. You do need to register to be able to receive it, it’s on the website and free. You will see how I develop an oil painting through the stages, you may find a few helpful tips in there.

Edited
by alanbickley