Start up set - oils

Welcome to the forum.

Here you can discuss all things art with like-minded artists, join regular painting challenges, ask questions, buy and sell art materials and much more.

Make sure you sign in or register to join the discussions.

Hang on Studio Wall
Showing page 1 of 2
Hi folks, I am really excited to be going on a beginner oils 2 day course shortly. I have never touched oils before and am looking for recommendations for a good start up set. I will need everything. I don't mind buying individual pieces or a full set, but I am on a limited budget. Has anyone got any suggestions, please? Many thanks, Dawn
Hi Dawn. I started painting by going on a 2 day oil course and the rest is history! Are you going to be using traditional or water-mixable oils. I used traditional and I bought the Georgian range of oil colours. A lot of artists say you should get "artists" range which are costlier but I found Georgian extremely good. They are made by Daler Rowney. Don't get huge tubes in case you don't enjoy using oils. I would buy a couple of reds, yellows and blues and a Titanium White and Paynes Grey. A small bottle of original Liquin, which is a medium. I didn't use any linseed oil. and a bottle of white spirit to clean your brushes. You could use turpentine but it can be expensive at this early stage. A couple of rags. I used a small table easel. And I would buy a couple of canvas boards. If of course you are using water-mixable oils, then the colours range would still be ok but you would need a medium suitable for this type of oil and no white spirit. Nearly forgot the brushes, a personal choice but I rarely used hog brushes and preferred ordinary acrylic/oil types. Try and get decent ones, perhaps a small, medium and larger. Enjoy your course.