Home | News | Features | Gallery | TV | Blogs | Forum | Events | Subscribe | Competition | Marketplace | Bookshop
About Painters Online |  Terms & Conditions |  Privacy Statement |  Cookie Policy |  Advertising |  Contributor Guidelines |  Links
The ArtistStart Art Painters' Club
Your Views

What is most likely to keep you from your art?

Artists block
 Work
 The garden
 Children/Grandchildren
 Social media
 Other (please tell us in the forum?
Vote

Home > Forums > Viewing a thread

You are logged in as a guest. 
 Forums ->  General discussion -> Artistic Inspiration
Jump to page : [1]

Format:  
Ted Wesson
AuthorMessage
usergazebo1
Posted: 5 September 2008 12:15 PM
Subject: Ted Wesson

Veteran

The watercolour palette thread has shown that I am not the only fan of the loose style of Ted Wesson. Like so many others he was self taught and Steve Hall, John Hoar and John Tookey have a similar lovely loose approach to watercolour. Sadly Ted died before the days of teaching videos so we can only learn from his work in his book "My Corner of the Field" and his articles which appeared in "The Artist" and "Leisure Painter" I understand from the editor of "The Artist" that it is not possible to reprint these although Leisure Painter recently printed an extract from the text of one. Does anyone remember these articles or indeed still have copies of the magazines?
userArtwayze
Posted: 5 September 2008 1:13 PM
Subject: RE: Ted Wesson

Veteran

Hi Gazebo (Alan I believe?)

I am another fan of Wesson. (Among others).

Have you visited Steve Hall’s site? I am sure you have. He has produced a DVD, in which he explains some of the Wesson techniques.