Keeping a Sketch Book

Welcome to the forum.

Here you can discuss all things art with like-minded artists, join regular painting challenges, ask questions, buy and sell art materials and much more.

Make sure you sign in or register to join the discussions.

Hang on Studio Wall
Hi, Having just stepped into the world of oils, what is the benefit of keeping a Sketch book? And what info etc. Should I include apart from sketches in it. Like I mentioned, as I'm new to oils, I'd like as much help / info to start in the right direction. Many thanks Ian
A sketch book is a satisfying way of observing, recording ,enjoying the world around you ,I do mine because I try and enjoy the moment( sometimes difficult) . I have possibly 20 books even more ,I’ve lost count, they go back years. Memories,,reminders , the basis for the start of a painting. Mine are as important to me as any finished painting. Don’t make chord of one just enjoy it. ( you can always staple the naff pics together ) 🌻