Do basic skills become instinctive?

Welcome to the forum.

Here you can discuss all things art with like-minded artists, join regular painting challenges, ask questions, buy and sell art materials and much more.

Make sure you sign in or register to join the discussions.

Hang on Studio Wall
Showing page 1 of 2
A couplet to kick off a discussion - well do basic skills like perspective become instinctive? Artistic skills are augmented when perspective becomes instinctive.
I wouldn't think that would be necessarily so, Michael, some artists never get the hang of perspective, and others find it a bind, and prefer to go by eye alone. Will be interesting to read others comments on this.
Form my own perspective (pun intended) I have been painting architectural scenes for many years and can't recall ever spending much time debating with myself the issues of perspective. I do seem to have a feel if something is wrongly represented whilst it doesn't always come naturally to others. I also find that I can apply artists licence (yes I have one) to colours, layout , positioning and general interpretation - I can paint tight or loose, and get away with all of this but if I get the perspective wrong it will be the one thing which will be pounced on by others.
Nice pun, Michael. In my eighteen years of painting, all sorts of things, I too haven't given too much attention to perspective, my theory - if it looks right, that's fine. I think over the years you become tuned in to your subject, no matter if you have a diverse portfolio, plants buildings etc, with practice, over the years, I believe there is improvement between brain and hand. When I look back at my first attempts, there is an improvement. We soon learn how to represent a certain depth and distance with each subject we want to portray within painting.