Advice on acrylic tools and paints wanted

Welcome to the forum.

Here you can discuss all things art with like-minded artists, join regular painting challenges, ask questions, buy and sell art materials and much more.

Make sure you sign in or register to join the discussions.

Hang on Studio Wall
Hi This is my first post on the forum... hello: ) I have always fancied a go at painting and imagined myself using either watercolours or acrylic. I've decided to have a go with acrylic and have bought a selection of colours and brushes... probably (definitely) not the best in the world. So my this is my first attempt at a landscape. I started getting a bit disillusioned as I was finding greens hard to mix, they looked dull and flat! I'd like to produce something like the work that Janet Bell produces... it's a similar style to what I always imagined me doing in my mind... see below: ) I'm trying to get my head around what types of brushes or other tools she may have used? I suspect that I've tried to used the acrylic to heavy (if that makes sense)? Any thoughts and advice would be appreciated. Simon PS I am thinking of trying to find a local art group to join for advice and inspiration.

Edited
by SlopeSoarer