Charging for Commissions

Welcome to the forum.

Here you can discuss all things art with like-minded artists, join regular painting challenges, ask questions, buy and sell art materials and much more.

Make sure you sign in or register to join the discussions.

Hang on Studio Wall
Hi, I've painted with acrylics for over 20 years and after several years of work getting in the way I took up painting again in 2015. I discovered my passion is therapeutic paintings for others. I show those interested, my art on my mobile phone, and that is how I received my commissions. People talk to me about their inner most feelings, a problem or a memory and I develop a painting from that. All my commissions have a story to tell which means a lot to the customer which is the most important thing for me. So I want to keep my prices affordable. I've had many years experience working with people and I seem to have developed a way of imaging their needs in a painting. So far no one has rejected my ideas. Commissions can take many weeks to complete which includes consultation and coming up with ideas. But being an amateur and unknown I'm at a loss of how to charge. My last commission I charged £170 for 20" x 30" box canvas and I put several weeks work into it. But how should I work out my costs? Should I charge by the hour? I want to keep my prices affordable although I'd like to be able to afford to pay some bills.