I know a good workman never blames his tools but...

Welcome to the forum.

Here you can discuss all things art with like-minded artists, join regular painting challenges, ask questions, buy and sell art materials and much more.

Make sure you sign in or register to join the discussions.

Hang on Studio Wall
Showing page 1 of 2
Hi guys, I am a real beginner and as such bought an all-in-one oil painting tutorial set for beginners. I have done one painting using this but was already frustrated by my inability to be able to do fine strokes or "points", and when I tried to sign my masterpiece(!) well it was just a big blurred splodge there was no way I could do my signature with even the thinnest round brush in the set (probably doesn't help its a very small A5 canvas to start with so was trying for a very small signature). Anyway long and short of it - are these brushes likely to be very cheap and therefore causing my issues or is it purely down to technique, or a combination of the 2? I literally could not get the tail feathers of the rooster I was painting to anything like a think point at the end whatever I tried. I did read even a great painter would really struggle with cheap brushes so that gave me some hope. Would you guys recommend splashing out a bit on some good quality brushes, in order for me to enjoy my journey more? And if so any recommendations? If it helps I am mostly aiming to do portraiture (eventually) and would like to be able to do fine detail better. Thanks for any advice James