Conundrum of commission

Welcome to the forum.

Here you can discuss all things art with like-minded artists, join regular painting challenges, ask questions, buy and sell art materials and much more.

Make sure you sign in or register to join the discussions.

Hang on Studio Wall
I'm a hobby painter, with the desire to be better and to exhibit (without being an exhibit myself). I've shared a couple of pix on social media,just because there's a subject dear to my heart as a rugby man, and now have had an approach about a commission. There have also been expressions of interest from other people for commissions. I'm not an artist. I'm a bloke dabbling with oils. I've said I'll give the commission a go, but for the chap to fund the cost of the canvas. Nothing more. Now I'm worried that it won't be good enough; that I've been fortunate in a couple of efforts so far. I have ambition for my painting - but not for fame or money. I want to have my work exhibited, but without the fanfare or spotlight on me. I think I like the idea of my paintings gracing walls in a number of households, and I think I'd like to offer my work for sale in the future, if it becomes good enough. I'm at an impasse. I'm a journalist by profession, 30 years worth, but now jobless, living as a house husband and looking after my eight month old daughter and 11 year old son. I'm an ideas man, a doer, but not a salesman. Any views would be appreciated.