Copyright

Welcome to the forum.

Here you can discuss all things art with like-minded artists, join regular painting challenges, ask questions, buy and sell art materials and much more.

Make sure you sign in or register to join the discussions.

Hang on Studio Wall
Hi, Please may I ask your advice regarding copying for nonprofit. I am an amateur artist who creates work for my own pleasure. I am teaching myself watercolours by copying the style of illustrators, which I love doing. Most are children’s pictures and I would love to give one of them to a friend who has just had a baby. It will be a gift. Am I ok to record that this is a copy of an image by xxxx and created for non-profit? Also, as a reader and copier from thef “how to guides” in the magazine, can these copies be given away as gifts subject to the above statement or similar, or must they remain in my cupboard along with the many other copies and learning experiences? Thank you in anticipation.
So long as you aren't publishing or making a profit from your copies, you are unlikely to be pursued - though 'publishing' can mean simply showing a picture to someone else, that's more an issue to do with indecent images than anything else; and I know you're not doing that.... We do have a retired solicitor on the forum who could give you more reliable advice, but on the balance of probabilities I should say a) you don't have a problem, b) move on to doing your own original work as soon as you can. Copying from existing paintings, and certainly from how-to articles in magazines, is a time-honoured way for students to learn: museums and historic art galleries used to be full of students doing just that - I don't know if they still are. So long as you're not selling, or offering for sale, or claiming ownership of someone else's idea - you'll be all right.