Drawing and painting on a Samsung tablet

Welcome to the forum.

Here you can discuss all things art with like-minded artists, join regular painting challenges, ask questions, buy and sell art materials and much more.

Make sure you sign in or register to join the discussions.

Hang on Studio Wall
Showing page 1 of 2
I've been using one for a couple of months, with a basic digital art programme that's free with the tablet. I've now got the hang of it, and I'm impressed by the results. The pictures I've done are lively and colourful, it's much easier than doing a drawing with coloured pencils. I've mainly done portraits - I record suitable programmes or films on the TV, find a nice subject and paint straight from the screen with the image paused. I tried life drawing yesterday. It was particularly good during the short quick poses at the beginning of the session, although the Samsung tablet is quite small at 10 " long, so you can't do big expressive gestures. What do other people think about drawing using a tablet?
I have no experience of using a tablet in this way although curious to give it a try. I would be interested to learn how much of the finished article relies on the technology as opposed to the operator.
I bought a DVD and book on digital painting last year. I was going to buy a tablet and have a go, but I'm not very good at anything technical, so I chickened out. I am still interested though and will see what happens with this thread. Good luck Keora.