Digital Paintings

Welcome to the forum.

Here you can discuss all things art with like-minded artists, join regular painting challenges, ask questions, buy and sell art materials and much more.

Make sure you sign in or register to join the discussions.

Hang on Studio Wall
Showing page 1 of 4
More and more artists are using the iPad or software to create a painting. Heather Adams has posted some interesting results http://www.painters-online.co.uk/gallery/art-view,picture_174561.htm If you are interested to know how some of the artists work, here are 3 videos https://landscapeartblog.wordpress.com/video/computer-art/
I have no knowledge or experience of digital art but it has become an issue with our art club as there is some discussion as to whether digital art should be admitted to the annual exhibition. The discussion centres on whether digital art is produced by the artist or by the computer software. I will watch your referenced videos with interest and hope for enlightenment.
I can see the value of digital art, and the ability to change the colour of an individual pixel must be great ... ... but ... having spent years in Investment Banking, needing a pc to get my work and then produce, monitor and track my and my staff's entire output, and now needing a pc to run my business, the last thing I want to do in creative moments is sit down at yet another $#**@&!!!! electronic gadget. Give me a real musical instrument with real strings, a real book or a real pencil or box of pastels or pens and a piece of paper any day.
I have never produced digital work. I did use Photoshop for graphic design way way back. As I don't create such work I don't comment on it apart from 2 members who I know about. Must admit to breeze past it, there again I used to to do that with abstracts, now I paint the odd one. Generally I am with alang and can't see the point but everyone to their own..